How to Participate in CHAOSS?

The CHAOSS community is dedicated to fostering an open and welcoming environment for contributors. Anyone can join the mailing list, participate in Zoom meetings, or contribute to any of our projects at any time! Please read our Code of Conduct to learn more about participating in CHAOSS.

For folks who speak Chinese

WeChat

Join us for CHAOSS Community and Working Group video conferences

Because transparency is one of our core values, we record and publish all community and Working Group calls to CHAOSStube (our YouTube channel). This should not deter you from participating if you would prefer to keep your information private! Here are a few adjustments you can make to safely join the calls:

  • Keep your camera turned off during the call
  • Make sure your real name isn't shown in your Zoom settings
  • Instead of speaking, use Zoom's chat functionality to communicate (we heavily integrate chats into the flow of voice conversation)

We hope you'll join us!

CHAOSS Community

The first Tuesday every month is a formal 'monthly call' for updates from committees, working groups, and broader community. All other Tuesdays, we 'hangout' informally without agenda. Topics include new metrics, how to interpret metrics, progress on software development, new features that would be nice, recaps from recent events, or community questions.

The CHAOSS community meets every Tuesday at 4:00pm UTC / 11:00am US Central Time / 6:00pm Central European Time / 12:00am Beijing Time / via Zoom -- Agenda and Meeting Minutes

Join the CHAOSS mailing list

Common Metrics

The Common Metrics Working Group focuses on defining the metrics that are used by both working groups or are important for community health, but that do not cleanly fit into one of the other existing working groups. Areas of interest include organizational affiliation, responsiveness, and geographic coverage.

The Common Metrics WG meets every other Thursday at 3:00pm UTC / 10:00am US Central Time / 5:00 pm Central European Time / 11:00pm Beijing Time / via Zoom -- Agenda and Meeting Minutes

Info about working group: https://github.com/chaoss/wg-common

Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion

The CHAOSS Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion (DEI) Working Group aims at bringing experiences to help others center diversity, equity, and inclusion in their own open source projects.

The DEI working group meets every Wednesday at 3:00pm UTC / 10:00am US Central Time / 5:00 pm Central European Time / 11:00pm Beijing Time / via Zoom -- Agenda and Meeting Minutes

Info about working group: https://github.com/chaoss/wg-diversity-inclusion

Join the DEI mailing list.

Evolution

This Working Group focuses on Evolution metrics and software. The goal is to refine the metrics that inform Evolution and to work with software implementations.

The Evolution working group meets every other Wednesday at 2:00pm UTC / 9:00am US Central Time / 4:00pm Central European Time / 10:00pm Beijing Time / via Zoom -- Agenda and Meeting Minutes

Info about working group: https://github.com/chaoss/wg-evolution

Risk

This Working Group focuses on Compliance and Risk metrics. The goal is to refine the metrics that inform Risk and to work with software implementations.

The Risk working group meets every other Thursday at 7:00pm UTC / 2:00pm US Central Time / 9:00pm Central European Time via / 3:00 am Beijing Time Zoom -- Agenda and Meeting Minutes

Info about working group: https://github.com/chaoss/wg-risk

Value

This Working Group focuses on industry-standard metrics for economic value in open source. The main goal is to publish trusted industry-standard Value Metrics.

The Value working group meets every other Thursday at 2:00pm UTC / 9:00am US Central Time / 4:00pm Central European Time, 10:00pm Beijing Time / via Zoom -- Agenda and Meeting Minutes

Info about working group: https://github.com/chaoss/wg-value

App Ecosystem

This working group applies CHAOSS metrics in the context of an open source app ecosystem. The mission of this working group is to build a base set of metrics that is focused on the needs of open source communities that are part of the FOSS app ecosystem.

The App Ecosystem working group call meets every other Monday at 5:00pm UTC / 12:00pm US Central Time / 7:00pm European Central Time / 1:00am Beijing Time / via Zoom -- Agenda and Meeting Minutes

Asia Pacific Call

This working group aims to connect with community members in the Asia Pacific region regarding open source community health. Discussions will focus on recapping CHAOSS work as well as identifying new areas of interest. The working group is, of course, open to everyone from any global region.

The Asia Pacific community call meets every other Wednesday at 1:00pm UTC / 8:00am US Central Time / 3:00pm Central European Time / 9:00pm Beijing Time / via Zoom -- Agenda and Meeting Minutes -- Agenda and Meetings Minutes in Chinese

Metrics Models

The Goal of this working group is to develop models that include the integration of multiple CHAOSS metrics in a way that people would consume them in practice.

The Metrics Models community call is on alternating Tuesday evenings (every other week, starting September 14, 2020) at 11:00pm UTC / 6:00pm US Central Time / 1:00am Central European Time / 7:00am Beijing Time / via Zoom -- Agenda and Meeting Minutes

Augur

This Working Group connects the Augur software development with metrics work in other CHAOSS working groups. Topics including how-to's, technology, roadmap, implementation, architecture, and metric visualization.

Info about Augur: https://github.com/chaoss/augur

GrimoireLab

This Working Group connects the GrimoireLab software development with metrics work in other CHAOSS working groups. Topics including how-to's, technology, roadmap, implementation, architecture, and metric visualization.

Info about GrimoireLab: https://github.com/chaoss/grimoirelab

Community Dashboard

The community dashboard at chaoss.biterg.io is a GrimoireLab instance provided by Bitergia. All contributors' information in the CHAOSS project is processed to power the dashboard.

CHAOSS community members can create, save, and share visualizations. This is encouraged in building out metrics within working groups.

To request access, please open an issue and include your Keybase name to allow secure transmission of the login information.

CHAOSS Github Repo

Copyright © 2021 CHAOSS a Linux Foundation® project. All rights reserved. The Linux Foundation has registered trademarks and uses trademarks. For a list of trademarks of The Linux Foundation, please see our Trademark Usage page. Linux is a registered trademark of Linus Torvalds. Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.